

KONKAN RAILWAY CORPORATION LIMITED KONKAN RAILWAY USERS' CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE (KRUCC) CONSTITUTION AND RULES

1. PREAMBLE:

With a view to secure better representation and afford more frequent opportunities for consultation between KRCL and its users on matters relating to service provided and a means to improve the efficiency of service, KRUCC has been established on Konkan Railway.

2. COMPOSITION

The KRUCC will consist of persons to represent the Konkan Railway Users in the territory served by the Konkan Railways i.e., from Roha (excluding) to Thokur (including), as stated below –

2.1. Non-Official Members

- i. One Member of Parliament representing Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha each from the States of Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka and Kerala nominated through Ministry of Railways. 8 Members
- ii. One member each of State Legislature of Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka and Kerala nominated by the Hon'ble Speaker of respective State Legislative Assembly. 4 Members
- Representation from Chamber of Commerce and Industry having a standing of not less than 5 years from the States Maharashtra – two members, and one each from Goa, Karnataka and Kerala nominated by the respective Chambers – 5 Members
- iv. Representation from Registered Passenger Association One from each of the State of Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka and Kerala. 4 Members.
- v. Representation Special Interest Group nominated by Ministry of Railways 2 Members
- vi. Representation Special Interest Group nominated by CMD/KRCL 1 Member

Note:

- i. Following persons shall be excluded from KRUCC: Persons holding assignment of profit connected with Konkan Railway or other Zonal Railways e.g. Contracts pertaining to catering, vending, handling/out agency, supply / stores, works, State and Central Government Servants etc
- ii. The member shall not be member of any other Zonal Railway Consultative Committee of Indian Railways.
- iii. The designations of the Non-Officials Members of KRUCC notified and printed on their letterheads, visiting cards etc. should be strictly in terms of their nomination letter.
- iv. Non-Official Members are not permitted to use KRCL Logo on their letterheads, visiting cards etc.

2.2. Official Members

CMD/KRCL shall be the Chairman of KRUCC. The Secretary shall be Chief Manager (Admin). Other official members shall be as nominated for the purpose by Chairman.

3. SCOPE AND FUNCTIONS:

- 3.1. KRUCC represents the local users in the territories served by the Konkan Railway Corporation Limited i.e., from Roha (excluding) to Thokur (including) and consider matters relating to:
 - a. Provision of amenities in the area with which the committee is concerned.
 - b. Synergizing with other Railways and other transport modes for maximizing the services to industries and business development of the areas covered by KRCL.
 - c. Strengthening the infrastructure needs for better services to Users.
 - d. Improvement of the services and facilities provided by Railways.
 - e. Any subject of public interest or such matters affecting facilities which have been subject of representation by Users, or which has been referred by National Railway Users' Consultative Council or by the Administration.
- 3.2. The KRUCC which has been established will be consultative in character.
- 3.3. Matters relating to staff, recruitments are beyond the scope of KRUCC.
- 3.4. Matters relating to Railway rates/fares are also beyond the scope of KRUCC

4. MEETINGS

- i. The frequency of KRUCC meeting shall be minimum once in six months.
- ii. Date of meeting shall be intimated by Secretary 60 days in advance. Agenda by the Members should be sent atleast 30 days in advance from the date of meeting.
- iii. The final agenda for the meeting shall be circulated to the members 5 days before the date of the meeting.
- iv. The Secretary shall circulate the minutes of the meeting. A brief may be given to the press / social media by the Secretary.
- v. No quorum shall be prescribed for the meeting of KRUCC unless notified.
- vi. For every meeting, a Presiding Chairman shall be nominated with the census of all the members present.

5. TENURE

The tenure on KRUCC shall normally be for a period not exceeding 2 years or as notified by Ministry of Railways. The tenure of the Members nominated on KRUCC shall culminate simultaneously with the culmination of tenure of KRUCC

6. **REPRESENTATION ON NRUCC**

- i. One Non-Official Member of KRUCC shall be nominated on National Railway Users Consultative Committee (NRUCC), Ministry of Railway, New Delhi.
- ii. Nomination of KRUCC member to NRUCC shall be by consensus or by secret ballot of all non-official members attending the meeting.
- iii. Secret Ballot: Each member shall vote for only one candidate. If any member votes for more than one candidate, the vote shall be deemed to be invalid. Any erasures, corrections etc. in the vote slip shall result in the vote being declared invalid. In case of tie, the Presiding Chairman of the committee for the meeting will exercise his vote to decide the election. In case of dispute, the Presiding Chairman's decision will be final.
- iv. MPs/MLAs who are members of KRUCC are not eligible for being elect/nominate to NRUCC.

7. LEAVE OF ABSSENCE

The Chairman/KRUCC may sanction leave of absence to a KRUCC member

8. FACILITIES & PRIVILEGES

- i. The members of KRUCC will be entitled for facilities as available to members of Zonal User's Consultative Committee Members on Indian Railways.
- ii. Members Shall be issued with a KRUCC identity card, which should be returned to the Secretary on completion of Member's tenure.
- iii. Members are authorized to call upon a Station Master / Ticket Collector / Traveling Ticket Examiner who is readily available at any station on Konkan Railway to arrange a check in his / her presence of a compartment or carriage where it is suspected that persons without valid ticket or passes are traveling.
- iv. Members are authorized to inspect bookstalls and book trolleys on stations, catering and vending establishments at stations and Restaurants / Pantry cars on the trains.
- v. Members are authorized to enter station platforms without platform ticket.
- vi. Members are not entitled for free travel by train.

9. TRAVEL FACILITY

- i. Non-Official Members of the committee except those who are Members of Parliament, when attending the KRUCC meeting will be granted a Free First Class Pass with attendant in Sleeper Class from railway station nearest to the place of residence and place of meeting. A similar concession for the return journey.
- **ii.** Member of Parliaments attending the meeting, will be granted travel facility as admissible to them.
- iii. Break of journey is allowed enroute.
- iv. On the authority of First-Class pass issued to them, Member is entitled to travel in IIAC in any train other than Rajdhani / Shatabdi Express trains. The member can also travel in IAC class in trains other than Rajdhani / Shatabdi Express trains by paying the full difference of fare between IAC and IIAC.
- v. Passes to the member for attending the meetings will be issued a fortnight before the date of the meeting and made available for a fortnight from the anticipated/date of conclusion of the meeting.
- vi. Air travel is not permissible.
- **vii.** The travel facilities will be governed by guidelines issued by Ministry of Railways from time to time.

10. DAILY ALLOWANCE

The payment of daily allowance to no-official members other Member of Parliament and Members of Legislative Assembly shall be governed by guidelines issued by Ministry of Railways from time to time. For Member of Parliament DA shall be granted as admissible to them. For Members of Legislative Assembly DA will be regulated under TA/DA rules of the State Government concerned.

In calculating traveling allowance payable to members, the additional days involved in break journeys will not be taken into account.

()()()